Things are hotting up in this year’s SPARKS Learner of the Year competition, supported by lighting sponsor, Luceco Lighting, now that the regional heats have taken place.

The six talented regional winners will go on to complete in the Grand Final to be held at the Schneider Electrics Innovation Hub in Coventry on 24th and 25th April 2024.

The winners are:

  • South West – Daniel White from Bridgewater & Taunton College
  • Wales – Jade Norris from Bath College
  • North East – Daniel Powell from Derwentside College
  • North West – Kian Milroy from St Helens College
  • South East – Kian Baker-Humphreys from MIT Skill Ltd
  • Midlands – Jane Thorp – from Suffolk New College.

Special mention also goes to the regional runners up – Curtis Newell, Jared McCarthy, Nathan Cooper, Hari Hussain, James Barnby and Harry Withrington.

Simon Shenton, Head of LED at Luceco Lighting, and judge for the competition final said, “It has been inspiring to see the fantastic talent demonstrated throughout the competition so far and we look forward to an exciting final in April.”

Zoe Tanner, Managing Director at SPARKS said, “Well done to the winners of the regional heats – it will be an electrifying final in April! We also have some great support from the industry – we are especially pleased to have Luceco Lighting as our lighting sponsor this year – supporting the next generation of electrical contractors.”

For more information on SPARKS Learner of the Year, visit


Share this story

April 2024 issue

2024 A1 Buyers Guide