The Building Controls Industry Association (BCIA) is delighted to announce the launch of the 2024 BCIA Awards taking place on Thursday 2nd May 2024. The event will be held at a new venue, The Eastside Rooms, a modern conference centre located in Birmingham’s up and coming Knowledge Quarter.

Recognised as the biggest Awards in the building controls and Building Energy Management System (BEMS) industry, the BCIA Awards celebrate the best innovation and talent in the building controls sector. Award entries can now be entered using the online entry system, which allows you to start, edit, view, and download your entry before submitting it. The closing date for entries is Friday 26th January 2024 – there will be no deadline extension.

There are nine different categories available to enter, with sponsorship opportunities also available:

Building Controls and BEMS Installer of the Year (sponsored by Trend Control Systems Ltd)

Awarded in recognition of the building controls and/or BEMS installer which demonstrates professionalism, commitment, and understanding of the needs of clients.

Engineer of the Year

This award is open to individuals working for controls installers, manufacturers, consulting engineers, or FM companies who best demonstrate engineering excellence in controls and BEMS.

Young Engineer of the Year (sponsored by Schneider Electric)

Awarded to the individual aged 35 years or under who best demonstrates the achievements gained through successful participation in the BCIA Technical Training Programme and other building controls educational programmes.

Apprentice of the Year (sponsored by Group Horizon)

Awarded to the individual who best demonstrates the achievements gained through successful participation in an approved BEMS or building controls apprenticeship.

Energy Management Award (sponsored by Priva UK Ltd)

Awarded to a manufacturer, installer, or team in recognition of a project which demonstrates how building controls and/or BEMS have been applied to increase energy efficiency in a building or building complex.

Best Service & Maintenance Provider (sponsored by Western Automation)

Awarded to the company which best demonstrates outstanding levels of customer care in the provision of long-term service and maintenance contracts for BEMS and building controls.

Technical Innovation of the Year – Products

Awarded to the most innovative building controls/BEMS product development introduced in the last 12 months.

Technical Innovation of the Year – Projects

Awarded to the project installer/team which best demonstrates innovation and the deployment of smart technology to create a sustainable building/complex. 

Contribution to Training Award

Awarded to the individual, company, or organisation that has contributed to training on the installation, design, and/or use of building controls and BEMS.

BCIA President Graeme Rees said: “The BCIA Awards are a great chance to showcase your company’s stand out performance and technology, or a deserving employee’s significant talent, efforts, and achievements in the building controls sector. I am sure there will be very strong entries like last year which once again saw our industry’s finest engineers, be they apprentice, young or the experienced celebrated alongside recognition for the very best projects, technology and service providers. If you’re looking for some inspiration for your 2024 entry a series of case studies featuring last year’s terrific winners can be found on the BCIA website.”

He added: “For the awards evening itself we have announced a new venue this year, The Eastside Rooms, Birmingham, and we are very much looking forward to seeing many familiar faces and especially welcome new members who may be attending for the first time. We hope everyone can make it, so mark the date in your diary now and start looking forward to what promises to be a very enjoyable evening.”


Share this story

May 2024 issue

2024 A1 Buyers Guide