On the 30 July, the Lighting Industry Association (LIA) held its Annual General Meeting. Due to Covid this was held online,  with many of the board, the LIA CEO and past Interim LIA CEO able to meet together as a team. Residing President, Terry Dean welcomed all and reflected over the past 18 months, highlighting the positive changes which have taken place at the LIA.

Terry also gave his thanks to the various committees that support the LIA and thanked Paul Crisp for his support in his tenure as Interim CEO.

The LIA is governed through a team of well-respected industry wide volunteer representatives, collectively known as the LIA Council. Its purpose is to support lighting member businesses and individual members to thrive and excel with up to date lighting training, testing, lobbying and knowledge.

Annually, a selection of Council Members automatically retires thus providing an opportunity for other LIA Members to contribute. LIA CEO Matt Sturgess formally announced that the following Members were elected to Council in the May elections for a term of 4 years.

David Barnwell, Paul Coggins, Amanda Speight and Heidi De Lucchi, representing commercial luminaires. Catherine Connolly, representing domestic luminaires and Simon Lilley, representing components, services and controls.

Matt thanked all those that stood for election and those that voted, he also noted that Steve Stark retired in May 2021 and Peter Van de Kolk left John Cullen in 2020 and thanked them for their contribution and commitment to the LIA Council.

Matt Sturgess also confirmed that the Officers serving until the 2022 AGM will be:

President:  Terry Dean (D W Windsor)
Vice President:  Peter McVeigh (Status International)
Vice President:  Matt Carpenter (Feilo Sylvania)

Meeting regularly, the Council Members share their time, experience and expertise to help develop LIA policies that are aimed at supporting good quality and a vibrant, competitive UK lighting industry.

The AGM concluded with LIA President Terry Dean presenting the ‘LIA Presidents Award’, which recognises exceptional service to the lighting industry. This year’s recipient is David Wright, Managing Director of Emergency Lighting Products Limited and Jordan Reflectors Limited.


November 2023 issue

2023 A1 Buyers Guide