Queen Letizia of Spain to chair the Honorary Committee of the International Year of Light in Spain

The International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies 2015 (IYL 2015) Spanish National Committee is honoured to announce that Queen Letizia of Spain has accepted to chair the Honorary Committee of the Spanish International Year of Light. Other members of the committee include leading Spanish figures from academia and businesses where the technology of light plays a key role.

For Professor Maria Josefa Yzuel, President of the IYL 2015 Spanish Organising Committee, this is “an example of the firm commitment of Her Majesty the Queen in promoting science and technology in our country. Without doubt, this presidency of the Honorary Committee of the International Year of Light is great news for all of us working in light technologies and it will greatly help to spread the planned activities to the Spanish society.”
Since the start of 2015, more than 1,000 activities have been carried out in Spain related for the International Year of Light and it is expected that the activities will reach a million people. These activities have involved a wide variety of entities, such as universities, schools and private companies. Red Eléctrica de España, Iberdrola, Ambilamp and MTB Laboratory have contributed as sponsors to the IYL 2015 celebration.

Members of IYL 2015 Spanish Honorary Committee

Chaired by Her Majesty Queen Letizia of Spain

Prof. Dr. Carmen Vela Olmos,Secretary of State for Research, Development and Innovation, Ministry of Economy and Competitiveness.
Prof. Dr. Emilio Lora-Tamayo, President of the the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC)
Prof. Dr. Manuel J. Lopez Perez, President of the Conference of Rectors of Spanish Universities (CRUE)
Prof. Dr. Alberto Galindo Tixaire, President of the Royal Spanish Academy of Sciences (RAC)
Prof. Dr. Jaime Sanchez Revenga, Board Director of Royal Mint of Spain
Prof. Dr. Claude Cohen-Tanoudji, Nobel Prize in Physics, College de France, Paris
Prof. Dr. Juan Ignacio Cirac Sasturain, Prince of Asturias Prize in Scientific and Technical Research, Max Planck   Institute, Garching (Germany).
Mr. Ignacio S. Galán, President of Iberdrola
Dr. Jose Folgado Blanco, President of Red Eléctrica de España
Dr. Ing. Ana R. Diaz Vazquez, Director of Technologic Strategy and R & D in Abengoa
Prof. Dr. Pere Mir i Puig, President of CELLEX Foundation
Prof. Dr. Nazario Martin, President of Federation of Spanish Scientific Societies (COSCE).
Prof. Dr. Ramon Pascual de Sans, President of the Academy of Sciences and Arts of Barcelona (RACAB)
Prof. Dr. Adolfo de Azcarraga, President of the Royal Spanish Society of Physics (RSEF)
Prof. Dr. Santiago Vallmitjana Rico, President of the Spanish Society of Optics (SEDOPTICA)
Dr. Juan Carlos Martínez Moral, President of the Spanish General Council of Optometry and Optics (CGCOO)
Prof. Dr. Lluís Torner i Sabata, President of the Catalan Association of Research Centres (ACER)

For more information on IYL 2015 activities in Spain, please visit the Spanish National website.

Comments are closed.

    Recolight – March 17
    Ecopac Power skyscraper
    A1 Buyers Guide 2018 Skyscraper
    ISE 2018 right-hand skyscraper
    Prolight + Sound right-hand Skyscraper
  • A1 Lighting Twitter

  • Facebook