LA Student Lighting Design Awards finalists announced

Twelve finalists have been chosen for the 2011 Student Lighting Design Awards. The expert panel of six judges had the very difficult task of selecting, from the highest quality flatwork. LED technology was embraced as the light source of choice.

The decision was taken to award Best Flatwork to Chris Webb from Coventry University (to be presented in July), for Measures of Light.


2011 Finalists:

Measures of Light by Chris Webb, Coventry University

Untitled by Edward Holt, Sheffield Hallam University

Origin by Gregg Parsell, Nottingham Trent University

Kink by James Amelia, Nottingham Trent University

Black Orchid Light by Jason Taylor, Ravensbourne College of Design and Communication

Alice by Joe White, Nottingham Tent University

This is not Jelly by Kanako Anahara, Nottingham Tent University

AirLight by Mark McDonnell, Ravensbourne College of Design and Communication

ARC by Nicholas Lerwill, Northumbria University

MEC by Sam Aylott, Nottingham Tent University

Touch by Satwinder Hayer, Aston University

Lumino by Stephanie Bayle, Nottingham Tent University


Judging panel

Peter Hunt – Lighting Association

Nicola McGuirk – Dar Lighting

Vic Harasimow – Toshiba Information Systems (UK)

Simon Terry – Anglepoise

Graham Lewis – Osram

Fiona Elliott – Elliott Associates



ACID, Anglepoise, Citizen Electronics Co, Dar Lighting, Osram, Toshiba Information Systems (UK).


The final judging will be held on 7 July 2011.




Comments are closed.

    Recolight – March 17
    EcoPac Power skyscraper – March 17
    A1 Buyers Guide 2018 Skyscraper
    ISE 2018 right-hand skyscraper
  • A1 Lighting Twitter

  • Facebook